Home » HCPCS Level II Codes

HCPCS Level II Codes

HCPCS Level II Codes

HCPCS Level II codes are also a standardized coding system that is used primarily to identify products, supplies, and services not included in the CPT codes, such as Ambulance services and Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS) when used outside a physician’s office. The development and use of level II HCPCS codes began in the 1980’s since Medicare and other insurers cover a variety of services, supplies, and equipment that are not identified by CPT codes, the level II HCPCS codes were established for submitting claims for these items. Normally these codes are referred to as alpha-numeric codes because they consist of a single alphabetical letter followed by 4 numeric digits. The sequence of these codes are listed below

A Codes – Transportation services, including ambulance, chiropractic services, medical and surgical supplies, and miscellaneous

B Codes – Enteral and parenteral therapy

C Codes – Hospital outpatient PPS codes

D Codes – Dental Procedures

E Codes – Durable medical equipment

G Codes – Temporary procedures / professional services

H Codes – Alcohol and drug abuse treatment services

J Codes – Drugs administered including oral and chemotherapy drugs

K Codes – Durable medical equipment prosthetics, orthotics, supplies and dressings

L Codes – Orthotic and prosthetic procedures, devices

M Codes – Medical services

P Codes – Pathology and laboratory services

Q Codes – Miscellaneous services (temporary codes)

R Codes – Radiology services

S Codes – Temporary national codes

T Codes – State Medicaid Agency Codes

V Codes – Vision, hearing, and speech- language pathology services

To know the latest index of HCPCS Level II codes please click the link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *