HCPCS Level II J Codes

(2022) List With HCPCS Level II Codes

HCPCS Level II codes are also a standardized coding system that is used primarily to identify products, supplies, and services not included in the CPT codes, such as Ambulance services and Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS) when used outside a physician’s office.

The development and use of level II HCPCS codes began in the 1980’s since Medicare and other insurers cover a variety of services, supplies, and equipment that are not identified by CPT codes, the level II HCPCS codes were established for submitting claims for these items.

List With HCPCS Level II Codes

Normally the HCPCS Level II codes are referred to as alpha-numeric codes because they consist of a single alphabetical letter followed by 4 numeric digits. The sequence of the HCPCS Level II Codes are listed below.

A Codes

Description of A Codes: Transportation services, including ambulance, chiropractic services, medical and surgical supplies, and miscellaneous

B Codes

Description of B Codes: Enteral and parenteral therapy

C Codes

Description of C Codes: Hospital outpatient PPS codes

D Codes

Description of D Codes: Dental Procedures

E Codes

Description of E Codes: Durable medical equipment

G Codes

Description of G Codes: Temporary procedures / professional services

H Codes

Description of H Codes: Alcohol and drug abuse treatment services

J Codes

Description of J Codes: Drugs administered including oral and chemotherapy drugs

K Codes

Description of K Codes: Durable medical equipment prosthetics, orthotics, supplies and dressings

L Codes

Description of L Codes: Orthotic and prosthetic procedures, devices

M Codes

Description of M Codes: Medical services

P Codes

Description of P Codes: Pathology and laboratory services

Q Codes

Description of Q Codes: Miscellaneous services (temporary codes)

R Codes

Description of R Codes: Radiology services

S Codes

Description of S Codes: Temporary national codes

T Codes

Description of T Codes: State Medicaid Agency Codes

V Codes

Description of V Codes: Vision, hearing, and speech- language pathology services

Reference for the List With HCPCS Level II Codes: http://www.cms.hhs.gov/HCPCSReleaseCodeSets/Downloads/INDEX2009.pdf

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.