The nine sections that detects prevention of fraud, waste, and abuse

The nine sections which gives the secretary of HHS substantial additional authority in the detection and prevention of fraud, waste, and abuse are:

• provisions to enhance existing Medicare and Medicaid program integrity provisions

• reporting requirements for the HHS Office of Inspector General (OIG)

• medical identification (ID) theft information sharing; expanded permissive exclusion provisions

• provisions to make Medicare claims data relative to providers public

• restrictions on Medicaid participation for entities with certain ownership

• control and management affiliations

• restrictions on payments for illegal unapproved drugs

• a requirement for participating individuals or entities with federal health care programs to comply with certain congressional information requests 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.